Falk Foundation | Dr. Falk
You are here:  About usCompanyFalk Foundation e.V.Awards for Scientists
Awards for Scientists

The Falk Foundation e.V. donates several scientific awards to highly committed young scientists in appreciation of excellent activities in research.

Herbert Falk Prize

The Herbert Falk Prize for outstanding research in the field of gastroenterology is awarded at the Falk Gastro Conference. It is endowed with €40,000.
Herbert Falk (1924 - 2008), as founder of Dr. Falk Pharma GmbH (1960) and the Falk Foundation e.V. (1978), gave exceptional support to promoting gastroenterology and hepatology, both in Germany and internationally.

Adolf Windaus Prize

Since 1980 the Adolf Windaus Prize, endowed with €15,000, has been awarded every two years in appreciation of outstanding achievements in the field of bile acid research. The prize is named after the holder of the 1928 Nobel Prize for Chemistry, Prof. Adolf Windaus (1876-1959), who pioneered new developments in research into cholesterols and steroids. His research formed the basis for later discoveries in bile acid metabolism.

International Hans Popper Prize

The International Hans Popper Prize is endowed with €25,000 and has been awarded at an international Falk Liver Conference since 1989. It honors outstanding results of research into liver disease by experienced, active scientists. Prof. Hans Popper, after whom the prize ist named, was born in Vienna in 1903 and died in 1988. He was a renowned liver disease specialist.

Adolf Kussmaul Prize

The Adolf Kussmaul Prize has been awarded every year since 1991 on the occasion of the meeting of the South-West German Gastroenterology Association (Südwestdeutsche Gesellschaft für Gastroenterologie). This prize is endowed with €5,000 and is named after the gastroenterologist Adolf Kussmaul (1822-1902). It is awarded to young scientists (up to 35 years).

Ludwig Demling Prize

Since 1999 this prize has been awarded under the research funding program of the German Federation of Crohn's Disease and Ulcerative Colitis (Deutsche Morbus Crohn/Colitis ulcerosa Vereinigung e.V., DCCV) for projects in clinical research in the field of inflammatory bowel disease. It is endowed with €25,000 and is awarded every three years during the Annual Meeting of the DCCV. The prize is named after the gastroenterologist Ludwig Demling (1921-1995).

Thannhauser Medal and Thannhauser Prize

The Thannhauser Medal and Thannhauser Prize are presented alternately every two years by the German Society for Digestive and Metabolic Diseases (Deutsche Gesellschaft für Verdauungs- und Stoffwechselkrankheiten, DGVS) on the occasion of the society’s Annual Meeting. The Thannhauser Prize, which is endowed with €10,000, is presented in uneven-numbered years. The medal and prize are named after Siegfried Thannhauser (1885-1962), who worked as a specialist in internal medicine and scientist in Munich, Heidelberg, Düsseldorf and Freiburg. In 1934 he was forced to emigrate to the USA for political reasons, where he worked in Boston. He died there in 1962.